English Country Dancing


After many requests from a friend over the past two years to join her at an English Country Dancing class, a few weeks ago I finally decided to check it out — and I fell in love. I’ve always loved dancing but have never been particularly good at it. I also have a soft spot for historical fiction set in early 19th century England. It’s a match made in heaven!

The Hamilton English Country Dancers meet every Thursday night from 7:00 to 9:15 at Melrose United Church (directions from campus below) to learn and practice the kind of dancing you might see in a Pride & Prejudice movie. This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending the annual Cupid’s Hammer dance which attracted historical re-enactors from across Southern Ontario. It’s been a great way to meet people from the community and from McMaster, I’ve seen more than one professor from multiple faculties spinning partners around. I can’t wait to go back tonight!

If you’d like to join me there, admission is only five dollars for students and it is fairly easily accessible by bus:

