Jack & Lois Diner


Hey friends, my name is Jennifer and I’m one of Pop the Bubble’s new contributors this year! I lived in Richmond Hill for 17 years of my life, but ever since starting school at McMaster, I am proud to call Hamilton my home.

In first year, I was skeptical about Hamilton, but after spending a summer here exploring, I’ve grown to love the city!

I spent my free time in the summer biking and hiking through the beautiful trails in Hamilton (I have scratched up knees to prove it, because I fall off my bike a lot!) and engaging in the city’s vibrant festivities through the art crawls on James Street North.

I remember walking down James Street and taking in all the sights and sounds of the delicious food at restaurants on the street. My goal was to eat at as many of the restaurants on James Street as possible. Once the semester started, I didn’t have as much time to explore the city, but I did find time this past Saturday to go back to James Street and try out one of the restaurants.  I had a midterm that Saturday afternoon, so I decided to engage in some self-care and treat myself with delicious food.

I went to Jack and Lois, a cute, small and cozy diner with a retro vibe and a few eclectic and quirky touches such as mismatched chairs and tables.

jen-jack-and-lois-one

(This picture was taken from the Jack & Lois facebook page)

I got the Good Luck Burger, which had roasted peameal, cheddar, caramelized onions, and maple. The peameal was dense and flavorful, and with so many layers, it tasted so divine and juicy. I loved it! The maple syrup really added a sweet touch to it (haha, sweet, get it?). It was kind of messy to eat, but then again, if you don’t make a mess while eating a burger, did you really eat a burger??

jen-jack-and-lois-2

My friend – a self-proclaimed grilled-cheese connoisseur – got the Thrilled Cheese Sandwich. He rated it “a solid 7/10” and commented that the “three different types of cheeses worked really well, with the perfect combination of messy and melted”. He had wished for a larger portion to satisfy those Saturday night cravings! A little greasy for an everyday meal, but well worth the treat (and worth an extra trip to the gym!).

jen-jack-and-lois-3

I definitely recommend Jack and Lois for your cheat days if you’re looking for good sandwiches, burgers, or breakfast (they do all day breakfast!). If you ever find yourself on James Street North, check it out!

P.S. If you’re lucky, you might even spot Max Kerman from the Arkells eating there!

